So the BBC said they could not get a hold of Kay Walten for an interview to discuss how she felt and what she saw when she found The Pit.

Well being the good reporters that we are, and knowing where Kay is most of the time, she granted us the interview the BBC could not seem to get.

1. Do you remember the day you discovered the PIT?

I remember the day Dan Lins and I discovered the Pit as if it was yesterday. We had been coming from the downstream side of Dos Ojos, through a little tunnel we had explored earlier, looking for leads that would have us continue our journey and exploration. Visibility was zero. Total white out from silt. We bumped and grinded over some flow stone into clear water. I was stuck at one point in the restriction, worming my way through. we had no idea where we were headed and thought this was going to be a dead end. Once through the restriction, about 30 feet beyond, we noticed light. Could it be? We swam out of a tunnel which was at a depth of 40 feet deep and into a round crevasse. A void, bottomless, with a the swirl of hydrogen sulfate simmered below like steam from a cauldron. I felt incredibly small, minute, in the enormous space. Until this point most of the cave systems in Quintana Roo had been shallow, less than 100′ feet generally. Passageways by comparison, small. After surfacing in excitement we decided to tie off and see where the bottom was. I lead and we went to 240′ deep having missed the deeper lead. It was the deepest I had ever been at the time. In later dives we learned the bottom was 400 feet deep and more horizontal than vertical. Dan and I wanted to find the shallow passage out of the pit, which would be the more promising continuation of the cave. While following the wall perimeter we found a tunnel at 40 feet that continued down stream.

2. What were your first impressions?

As stated above, i felt small in comparison to the huge gapping hole we had just entered. The entire experience was surreal and it was tough trying to digest what i was looking at. there were beams of light coming from the heavens and a steamy cauldron below me. having just come out of a small restriction, with zero visibility and no idea where we were going to end up, I might have said I was in heaven.

3. Was this your first discovery of a new system or had you discovered other systems prior to the PIT.

Before the Pit, I had had opportunities to discover, with other divers, the upstream side on Ponderosa, now called Eden, sections of Nohoch Nah Chich, parts of Cristalino and explorations of Dos Ojos which was at the time the second largest cave system in the world.

4. What was your favorite part of the PIT cavern and cave.

My favorite parts of the Pit dive, and all the dives that started there, aside from the geological wonder of it, was the time spent with the people I dove with there that included exploration work to photo shoots. During that time, the only way we could access the system was with long treks in the jungle with equipment on horses, marching ants taking us by storm on hikes out of the jungle in the dark. The time at camp as we set up for dives that involved numerous tanks and numerous hours were half the fun! I loved the time spent with some of the best divers I know; the laughter, the tears, the fatigue that comes with cave exploration, all made the pit a special time in my dive career. Cave exploration is an activity, above and below the waterline, that will push you physically, mentally and emotionally. It has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had ever.

